Eagles Announce Matchday Roster for WPSL Opener Against AAFC Lumberjills

Eagles midfielder Lisa Nouanesengsy | Daniel Herlensky

Columbus Eagles FC has announced its 20-woman matchday roster for its WPSL opener against AAFC Lumberjills (Saturday, 2 p.m., at Otterbein University). The roster includes all four of the team’s 2017 WPSL All-Stars and many names that shined through the team’s preseason this year.

Goalkeepers Hannah Sargent and Kassandra Young make their Eagles debuts Saturday, as does Worthington, Ohio, native Rian Reed, who plays her college soccer at Wright State University.

Tickets are $10 online and at the gate of the event. Gates open at 1:15 p.m.

(A note: Otterbein University does not allow the use of flares or smoke in the stands of their events. Music, flags, posters, tifos, and banners are all permitted in the event.)

The full roster:

Goalkeepers: Hannah Sargent, Kassandra Young

Defenders: Summer Bourcier, Monique Hanayik, Amber Kern, Megan Minnix, Adison Preston

Midfielders: Alexa Cheripko, Kelly DeNiro, Ellie Gavin, Ashley Gogolin, Larissa Najjar, Lisa Nouanesengsy, Micaela Powers, Mary Seiffert

Forwards: Dani Gunderson, Rachel MacLeod, Rian Reid, Lila Remache, Eryn Weber

Kickoff between Columbus and Ann Arbor is scheduled for 2 p.m. Saturday afternoon at Otterbein University’s Memorial Stadium (135 Center St., Westerville, OH 43081).

Fans with an Eagles ticket have access to the free bus that will take fans from Otterbein to MAPFRE Stadium to watch the Crew’s match later Saturday night. Those who take the bus to MAPFRE will be bussed back to Otterbein after the Crew match ends.

Also, Saturday is the last day to buy an Eagles’ season membership at the Family and Friend levels and still be eligible for a free scarf. Fans can purchase online or at the gate of the match Saturday afternoon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *